Skip to content



Six stage process developed by Checkland to create Root Definition.

  1. C – Clients/customers of system identified i.e. stakeholders.
  2. A – Actors involved in situation – key stakeholders.
  3. T – Transformation involved i.e. what are inputs, what is transformation and what are outputs.
  4. W – Weltanschauung/worldview – set of beliefs brought to the situation.
  5. O – Owners of system.
  6. E – Environment system will function in.

Elements of CATWOE identified and fed into Root Definition.


Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: