Skip to content

Standard Development Lifecycle


1960s – first significant model developed – Standard Development Life Cycle (SDLC), also known as waterfall method. Splits software development process into stages:

  • Requirements
  • Analysis
  • Design
  • Build
  • Test
  • Implementation
  • Maintenance

Model has high level of abstraction – seven stages. No models have lower abstraction guiding development process.

Has Systems Thinking approach – Maintenance loops back into Requirements – software development is circular/iterative process with inputs, outputs, controls and feedback.

V-model and W-model followed on, emphasis on quality and testing.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: